7 Steps of Education Reform

by beccaborrelli


Step 1: Pick up the whole ed system in your hands like this.

Mkay. Good.

Step 2: Put it over there.

Don’t look at it.

Nope! I see you peeking. No peeking!

Step 3: Look over HERE.

Gooood.

Step 4. Dream.

The table is EMPTY. ANYTHING is possible.

Good?

Okay Step 5….

Whoa!

Whoa Whoa Whoa!

That’s looking suspiciously similar to the old system…

(but bigger?)

okokokok….

Look back over here

Throw out the rules.

Pretend.

Pretend you have a magic wand

Good.

Are you imagining?

You are?

Excellent.

Step 5: Now what materials will we need?

ohhhhhh

Wow.

Good job.

I’m impressed

It’s going to take a lot of work

I mean that’s pret-ty dang different

You up for the challenge?

OK!

Well in that case here….

We’re ready for Step 6.

Here’s the old one.

Remember?

Put your ear real close.

… and you can hear the sounds

moneygovernmenttests!!jobscapitalismteacheri’mrightyourewrong

i’mrightyourewrongpovertytaxespowereconomyindustrybureaucracyhealth

carecommoncoremeritpayteacherstandardsstandardsi’mrightyourewrong

i’mrightyourewrongassessassessassess?moneymoneymoneyunionvaluea

i’mrightyourewrongddedmoneygovernmenttestsjobsbusinesscapitalism!

povertypowereconomyindustrybureaucracyhealthi’mrightyourewrong

i’mrightyourewrongtaxescarecommoncoremeritpaystandardsstandards

!assessassessassess?moneymoneymoneyunioni’mrightyourewrong

i’mrightyourewrongvalueaddedmoneygovernmenttestsbusinessjobscapitalism

teacherpovertypowereconomyindustrybureaucracyi’mrightyourewrong

i’mrightyourewronghealthcarecommoncoremeritpaytaxstandardsstandardsassess

assessassessmoneyteachermoneymoneyunionvalueaddedi’mrightyourewrong

I know…

it’s intense

Mkay ready?

Take a deep breath.

We’re going in.

Yes…

back in the old system.

yeah…

I know it sucks in there but that’s where the people are.

What are we doing to do?

Welp,

we’re going to love on them.

Yep.

That’s it.

Step 7.

I know, I know…

We’ll have to do other stuff too.

But we’ll figure that out later.

As long as we keep doing Step 7 it will work out.

hmmmm….

that’s a good point

Let’s make a pact,

every time I make a decision, ask me if I’m following Step 7.

I’ll do the same for you.

Step 7 is magical.

If we remain true to it, every choice will be the right choice

no…

haha…

I’m not a hippy.

Just an art teacher

