A Brazen Portrait

by beccaborrelli


"Pollock." Robert Arneson. 1983.

Fourth Grade is wrapping up a unit on Clay Portraiture. We study Robert Arneson’s series of clay portraits dedicated to people who inspire him. The one above is of the renowned Abstract Expressionist, Jackson Pollock. Kid’s eyes glisten and grow wide when they learn about Pollock. His story is powerful one.

This year, students were assigned to do a clay portrait about someone who inspired them. I swear to you that what I am about to say is true:

I did not plan this assignment around a self serving intention of having a student “pick me.” I should have known better. It would have spared me blushing and “aw-shucks” speeches.

But… it gives me an excuse to shatter the mystery.

Brazen in clay”



That is a hamster in my hand. Apparently the artist couldn’t decide who inspired her more… her brazen Art teacher… or her pet hamster.

Needless to say, I had a pretty swell Monday.

